The void, playing God, and boys with blue eyes.

I must keep reminding myself that I am not my own. Yes, I am not my own, so how could I have so ferociously claimed you?
But I guess that’s the thing that makes it all so beautiful. The wishing we could stand up and claim a single other human being.
We play God every time we stand up and shout, “Him, with the blue eyes, he’s mine!” out into the void.
It’s the closest we’ll ever get to understanding what a jealous God could look like.

7 thoughts on “The void, playing God, and boys with blue eyes.

  1. Jenna,

    how can I even thank you? Thank you for reminding me that I am not my own, I have never been my own, and I will never be my own. That is a scary thought, but it holds comfort to know that I belong to a God who loves us with such a jealous frenzy. Thank you for reminding me of that. I have been falling away from Him, but thank you for this reminder. Thank you for your words. Never stop writing, my dear, you have true talent 🙂

    keeping you tucked in my pocket,
    Courtney

    • Courtney, I honestly have been thinking about a response since you posted. I’m overwhelmingly humbled and am in tears writing this. You, my love, are beautiful. Thank YOU for reaching out and sharing your heart with me. Thank you for your encouragement.

Leave a Reply

